Life in Gurgaon

Varahagiri Venkata Giri- The 4th President of India

DOB: 10th August 1894

0 3,448

Varahagiri Venkata Giri  (10 August 1894 – 24 June 1980), commonly known as V. V. Giri, was the fourth president of India from 24 August 1969 to 24 August 1974. As president, Giri was the only person to be elected as an independent candidate. He was succeeded by Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed as president in 1974. After the end of his full term, Giri was honored by the Government of India with the Bharat Ratna in 1975. Giri died on 24 June 1980. His great-grandson V. Giri Shankar is an Advocate of the Madras High Court, Chennai.

Giri was honored with India’s highest civilian award, the Bharat Ratna, in 1975 for his contributions in the area of public affairs. As president, Giri had suo motu conferred the Bharat Ratna on Prime Minister Indira Gandhi in 1972. Giri was, in turn, conferred the Bharat Ratna in 1975 on the recommendation of Prime Minister Gandhi, in an act seen as a quid pro quo measure. Giri was the fourth of five of Presidents of India to have been conferred the Bharat Ratna.